Rongo University

Rongo University

The history of Rongo University (RU), formerly Rongo University College, dates back to the early 1970’s when it was established by members of the local community as a craft apprenticeship training center known as Kitere Technical School.

A lobby group, known as the Union of South Nyanza Welfare Association (USNWA), comprising leaders from the Southern Nyanza region petitioned the then President Daniel Arap Moi to elevate Kitere Technical to a public Institution and also give consent that the newly created institute be named after him. President Moi agreed to both requests and Moi Institute of Technology (MIT) was born in 1983.

in 2007, Moi University signed a memorandum of understanding with Moi Institute of Technology to  offer Diploma and Undergraduate programmes in the education, business and human resource management at MIT as a satellite Campus. The first batch of 100 students supported by Rongo Constituency Development Fund was admitted in January 2008.

Four years after signing of the MoU, the Government elevated Moi Institute of Technology to Rongo University College, to operate as Constituent College of Moi University. MIT was then officially handed over to the Council of Rongo University College on 22nd June 2012.

On 7th October 2016, having been in operation for four years as a constituent  College of Moi University, H.E President Uhuru Kenyatta signed the Charter elevating Rongo University College into a full-fledged public University.  The University is located 11 kilometers from Rongo Town and 2.5 kilometers off Rongo – Migori Highway.

Degrees offered at Rongo University

Bachelor of Science in Agriculture

Bachelor of Science in Horticulture

Bachelor of Science in Agricultural Extension and Education (Agriculture and Biology Teachers)

Bachelor of Environmental Science

Bachelor of Science in Agricultural Economics and Resource Management

Bachelor of Science in Agribusiness

Bachelor of Arts in Economics

Bachelor of Arts in Political Science and Public Administration

Bachelor of Arts in International Relations and Diplomacy

Bachelor of Arts in Sociology, Community Development, and Criminology

Bachelor of Arts in Kiswahili, Geography, Linguistics, History, Religion, Literature, International Relations

Bachelor of Commerce (Areas of specialization: Finance, Purchasing and Supplies Management and Accounting

Bachelor of Science in Supply Chain Management (Areas of Specialization: Procurement and Supplies Management and Logistics and Transport Management)

Bachelor of Science in Human Resource Management

Bachelor of Science in Project Planning & Management

Bachelor of Science in Hotel and Hospitality Management

Bachelor of Entrepreneurship

Bachelor of Tourism Management

Bachelor of Science in Information Science

Bachelor of Science in Informatics

Bachelor Science in Health Systems Management

Bachelor of Science in Health Records and Information Management

Bachelor of Communication and Media Studies- Specialization in Media Studies or Journalism

Bachelor of Education (Early Childhood and Primary Education)

Bachelor of Education (Special Needs Education)

Bachelor of Education (Arts)

Bachelor of Education (Science)

Bachelor of Science (Mathematics)

Bachelor of Science (Applied Statistics with Computing)

Bachelor of Science (Physics)

Bachelor of Science (Chemistry)

Bachelor of Science (Biochemistry)

Bachelor of Science (Computer Science)

Bachelor of Science (Fashion Design and Textile Technology)

Bachelor of Science (Microbiology)

For more information please click Rongo University