The Cooperative University of Kenya

The first co-operative in Kenya was founded in 1908 by the Colonial Government. In 1952 the school of cooperation was started at the then Jeans School (now Kenya School of Government) which saw the three East African countries: Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania/Tanganyika establish the school to ensure the uniqueness of the Co-operative Business Model was preserved.

And that is how in 1967, the Co-operative College of Kenya was born with 40 students at Allen Road, the present Daystar University Campus next to Kenyatta National Hospital which gave way to the construction of the present Co-operative College located at Ushirika Road, Karen. The College launched its first degree programme, the Bachelor of Co-operative Business in collaboration with Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology in 2005. The University College is awarded her Charter by the fourth President of the Republic of Kenya, His Excellency, Uhuru Kenyatta in 2016. It became The Co-operative University of Kenya and the first one of its own kind.

Degrees offered at The Co-operative University of Kenya

Bachelor of Co-operative Business

Bachelor of Co-operatives and Community Development

Bachelor of Community Development

Bachelor of Disaster Risk Management & Sustainable Development

Bachelor of Science in Agri-business Management

Bachelor of Commerce

Bachelor of Science in Finance 

Bachelor of Entrepreneurship

Bachelor of Tourism Management

Bachelor of Catering & Accommodation Management

Bachelor of Business and Information Technology

Bachelor of Science  in computer science

Bachelor of Science in Information Technology

Bachelor of Science in Statistics and Information Technology

For more information, please visit The Co-operative University of Kenya