004 Tana River County

Tana River County

Tana River County is found in the Kenyan coastal region. It is named after the longest river in Kenya that starts at Mt. Kenya and drains into the Indian Ocean. The county borders Kitui, Garissa, Isiolo, Lamu, and Kilifi. The biggest town and its administrative center is Hola.

Some of the major towns hosting colleges in Tana River include Bangale, Galole, Wenje, Kipini, Bura, Garsen, and Madogo. While the county is largely rural, it has some of the most developed towns connected using highways and inter-county roads. It is also a gateway to Garissa County from the coastal region.

Residents of Tana River County are largely pastoralists. The ever-flowing Tana River has also provided room for irrigation at Bura Scheme. Residents around the river engage in fishing as well. The county offers decent houses for students in their colleges alongside affordable food, internet, and entertainment.

Some of the activities to enjoy in Tana River County include the Hola Monument, Kora National Park, Tana River National Park, and Tana River Delta Ramsar Site. The Tana Delta Dunes are also a site to behold. From Tana River county, you can easily travel to Lamu, Kilifi, and Mombasa counties to expand your experience.

Here are some of the best colleges in Tana River County.

Garsen Technical and Vocational College

Helping Hands Skills Development Center

Maziwa Youth Polytechnic

KMTC Tana River Campus

Back To Top