Adventist University of Africa

The Adventist University of Africa in Nairobi, Kenya offers  dynamic postgraduate education in a Christian context, to prepare graduates to provide competent leadership and service based on integrity, respect, and love, to meet the needs of church and society.

The administrative office of the University is located on Advent Hill, Magadi Road, next to Maxwell Academy, Nairobi, Kenya.

The Adventist University of Africa (AUA) was established by the vote of the General Conference Executive Committee in 2003. However, classes started in 2006. The University was established with the priority of delivering balanced and dynamic postgraduate education to develop leadership personnel for the three divisions on the continent of Africa.

Initially the University was designed to have administrative offices in Nairobi, Kenya, but to provide graduate education on three extension campuses at (1) Babcock University in Nigeria, (2) Solusi University in Zimbabwe, and (3) the University of Eastern Africa, Baraton. While the General Conference vote of 2003 mandated the institution to “seek to operate under government charter permitting multiple delivery modes such as distance learning and conducting programs at various international sites, as well as the option of establishing a central campus,” a residential campus at the administrative site in Kenya was not intended to start at the initial stage. However, during the approval process for startup of the University, the Kenya Commission for University Education made it clear that they expected a residential campus to be established in Kenya in order to serve the population of Kenya. Consequently, through consultation between the leadership of the West-Central Africa Division, the East-Central Africa Division, the South Africa Indian-Ocean Division and the General Conference, it was decided to expand the administrative campus to include resident housing for professors and students, classroom space, and a main library.

A cohort of master’s degree students was started at the extension campuses in 2006, and to date 296 students have graduated with master’s degrees in Pastoral Theology and Leadership. Later the AUA University Council approved the offering of three degree programs on the main campus—MA in Biblical and Theological Studies, MA in Missiology with emphasis in Islamic Studies, and the Master of Business Administration. Three student housing units and the library building have been completed. There are three homes for administrative staff and ten homes for faculty. Though the main campus will begin offering full-time graduate programs for students in residence, the extension campuses will continue to operate as sites for offering postgraduate education in the cohort mode.

The Adventist University of Africa  offers its programs under the accreditation of the Kenyan Commission for University Education (CUE) Fully Chartered by CUE in 2013. Accredited by: Adventist Accrediting Association Accredited since: 2005

Courses offered at Adventist University of Africa

Master of Arts in Missiology

Master of Arts in Pastoral Theology

Master of Arts in Biblical and Theological Studies

Master of Divinity

Master of Chaplaincy

Doctor of Ministry

Doctor of Philosophy in Biblical and Theological Studies

Visit Adventist University of Africa for more details on their programmes, fee structure, and learning experience.

Back To Top