Kirinyaga University

Kirinyaga University (KyU) is located approximately 115 Km North East of Nairobi on Sagana – Embu – Highway. It is the successor to Kirinyaga Technical Institute which was conceived by the people of Kirinyaga way back in 1971 when the former head of state His Excellency the President, Hon. Daniel Arap Moi C.G.H., M.P. (then Vice-president) launched the Harambee Fund Raising Drive at the request of Kirinyaga people. Kirinyaga County Council set aside 200 acres of land for the institute at Kutus and 50 more acres were also acquired at Kangaita area on the slopes of Mt. Kenya. The Institute opened doors to the first students on 2nd March 1977 when 72 students were enrolled, 48 of these students were admitted in the building and construction department while the remaining 24 were enrolled in the clothing and textile technology department. New training programmes were introduced in plumbing and Electrical installation in the early and mid-eighties respectively.

Kirinyaga University College the predecessor to KyU was established as a constituent college of Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and technology (JKUAT) through a Legal Order No. 108 of August 2011. KyUC admitted its first student in September 2012 in two Bachelors’ degree programmes and grew tremendously in student and staff population with commensurate facilities to host 13 degree programmes.

Kirinyaga University was granted charter by His Excellency Hon. Uhuru Kenyatta the President of the republic of Kenya on 7th October 2016 with thirteen academic degree programmes, and has since increased the number of academic degree programmes to seventeen (17). The University is positioning itself to be a leader in offering courses geared towards producing employers and not employees in areas outlined by the Vision 2030.

Degree Programmes offered at Kirinyaga University

Bachelor of Procurement and Supplies Management

Bachelor of Commerce

Bachelor of Business Management

Bachelor of Science –Human Resource Management

Bachelor of Economics

Bachelor of Economics and Finance

Bachelor of Economics and Statistics

Bachelor of Economics and Mathematics

Bsc Information Technology

Bachelor of Business Information Technology

Bsc Computer Science

Bsc Statistics

Bsc in Mathematics and Computer Science

Bsc in Actuarial Science

Bsc in Analytical Chemistry

Bsc in Software Engineering

Bsc in Applied Statistics

Bachelor of Science in Computer System Engineering

Bsc. Forensic Science

Bsc. in Clinical Medicine and Community Health (Direct Entry)

Bsc in Clinical Medicine and Community Health (Mature Entry)

Bsc Nursing

Bsc Biotechnology (Medical and Industrial Options)

Btech Medical Engineering

Btech Medical Engineering (Mature Entry)

Btech. in Electrical and Computer Engineering

Btech in Construction and Property Management

Btech in Mechanical Engineering

Btech in Water Sanitation and Habitat Irrigation

Bachelor of Water Irrigation and Environmental Engineering

Btech in Mechanical Ventilation and Air Conditioning

Btech in Renewable Energy

Bsc in Fashion Design and Textile Technology

Bachelor of Technical Education

Bachelor of Education (Science)

For more information please click Kirinyaga University

Back To Top