Laikipia University

The University has a unique history that has evolved through different educational phases. It was started in April 1929 by a British Colonial farmer cum educationist by the name William Thomas Alfred Levet.

The Institution was by then a whites’ only primary school with a large farm, which was sold to Guy Bullen in February 1959. Mr. Bullen sold it to Ministry of Agriculture in 1965. Between 1965 and 1970, the Institution served as a Large–scale Farmers training (LSFTC) college.

The LSFTC was administered by the Ministry of Agriculture and Animal Husbandry. In October 1979, it was converted into a Animal Husbandry and Industry Training Institute (AHITI) offering a two year course leading to a Certificate in Animal Health. From 1988 to 1990, this operated as a Diploma Science Teacher’s college under Ministry of Education after which it was taken over by Egerton University on 1st July 1990 as a campus. It remained a campus of Egerton University between 1990 till 2010 majoring in BEd Arts and BA corses. In 2011 it became a constituent University College of Egerton University until 19th February 2013 when it became a fully fledged University.

Degree Programmes Offered

Bachelor of Arts in Kiswahili and Communication Studies

Bachelor of Arts in Communication and English Language Studies

Bachelor of Arts in Communication and Media

Bachelor of Science in Information Science

Bachelor of Library and Information Studies

Bachelor of Arts (Peace Education)

Bachelor of Science in Geography

Bachelor of Psychology

Bachelor of Science (Community Development)

Bachelor of Arts in Criminology and Security Studies

Bachelor of Science in Environmental Science

Bachelor of Education (Arts)

Bachelor of Education (Science)  Bachelor of Science (Physics, Biology, Chemistry, Mathematics)

Bachelor of Science in Biochemistry

Bachelor of Science in Biomedical Sciences and Technology

Bachelor of Science in Information and Communication Technology

Bachelor of Science in Computer Science

Bachelor of Commerce

Bachelor of Science (Economics and Statistics)

Bachelor of Science in Statistics

Bachelor of Science in Agricultural Economics

Bachelor of Agribusiness Management (BAM)

Bachelor of Arts (History and Economics)

Bachelor of Arts Economics and Sociology

Bachelor of Science in Agricultural Education and Extension

Bachelor of Education in Early Childhood and Development Education

Bachelor of Sports Science and Management

Bachelor of Science in Utilization and Sustainability of Arid Lands

Bachelor of Science in Natural Resource Management

For more information please click Laikipia University

Back To Top