The Catholic University of Eastern Africa

The Catholic University of Eastern Africa (CUEA), like most other universities, started in a modest way. It commenced as a graduate school of theology known as the Catholic Higher Institute of Eastern Africa (CHIEA).

The Institute (CHIEA) was founded in 1984 by the regional ecclesiastical authority known as the Association of Member Episcopal Conferences of Eastern Africa (AMECEA). Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Malawi, Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda and Zambia are the member countries of AMECEA.

On 2 May 1984, CHIEA was authorized by the Congregation for Catholic Education, Vatican City (cf. Prot. N. 821/80/34), to offer two-year Licentiate/MA programmes in Theology. On 3 September of the same year, it was officially inaugurated by Rt Rev. Bishop Madaldo Mazombwe, the then Chairman of AMECEA.

On 18 August 1985, it was formally opened by Pope John Paul II. In 1986, the Graduate School of Theology started negotiations with the Commission for Higher Education in Kenya towards the establishment of the Catholic University of Eastern Africa (CUEA).

In 1989, the Institute obtained the “Letter of Interim Authority” as the first step towards its establishment as a private university. After three years of intensive negotiations between the Authority of the Graduate School of Theology (CHIEA) and the Commission for Higher Education, the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences was established. The climax of the negotiations was a granting of the Civil Charter to CHIEA on 3 November 1992. This marked the birth of the university as a private institution.

Courses offered at CUEA

• Bachelor of Laws (LLB)
• Bachelor of Commerce
• Bachelor of Justice and Peace
• Bachelor of Education
• Bachelor of Arts in Anthropology
• Bachelor of Arts in Counseling Psychology
• Bachelor of Arts in Development Studies
• Bachelor of Economics
• Bachelor of Economics & Statistics
• Bachelor of Economics & Finance
• Bachelor of Arts in Environmental Planning & Management
• Bachelor of Arts in Geography
• Bachelor of Arts in History
• Bachelor of Arts in Kiswahili and Communication
• Bachelor of Arts in Philosophy
• Bachelor of Arts in Political Science
• Bachelor of Arts in International Relations
• Bachelor of Arts in Religious Studies
• Bachelor of Arts in Social Sciences
• Bachelor of Arts in Social Work
• Bachelor of Arts in Sociology
• Bachelor of Science in Actuarial Science
• Bachelor of Science in Biology
• Bachelor of Science in Chemistry
• Bachelor of Science in Community Health and Development
• Bachelor of Science in Computer Science
• Bachelor of Science in Health Professions Education
• Bachelor of Science in Library and Information Science
• Bachelor of Science in Mathematics
• Bachelor of Science in Nursing (direct/upgrading)
• Bachelor of Science in Physics
• Baccalaureate in Sacred Theology
• Bachelor of Theology

Visit CUEA for more details about their programs at undergraduate, masters, and Ph.D.

Back To Top